Page 8 EL CENTRAL July 25, 2024

MANA de Metro Detroit 2024 Annual Brindis Luncheon

By Stephanie Lopez Gilmore, President, MANA de Metro Detroit

n Thursday, July 18, MANA de Metro Detroit held its major annual event, the Brindis Luncheon, an opportunity to raise funds to support MANA Scholarship Program as well as our Mentorship Programs. The Brindis Luncheon is also a celebratory occasion in which MANA publicly recognizes outstanding individuals that support the Latino community in Metro Detroit, through the presentation of the Adelita and Amigo of the Year Awards.

This year, MANA recognized three exceptional Latinas for their courage, perseverance and commitment to improving the lives of Latinos in Metro Detroit. MANA's 2024 Adelita Award recipients are Tanya M. Caruana, Olga Ortiz Rodriguez, and Eva Torres. MANA's 2024 Amigo of the Year Award was presented to Dr. José Cuello for his continued advocacy work on behalf of the Latino community. José has also been a strong supporter of MANA since its inception.

The mistress of ceremony was Laura Chávez-Wazeerud-Din, president and CEO of Southwest Detroit Business Association and the keynote speaker was the Honorable Patricia Perez Fresard, Chief Judge Third Judicial Court of Michigan. Both are trailblazing Latinas that inspired and energized the audience with their words of wisdom.

Since 1996, MANA de Metro Detroit has provided over \$210,000 in scholarships to 164 deserving Latina scholars. Due to the generous support of our sponsors and donors, fifteen young women were awarded \$2,000 scholarships for the 2024-25 academic year. In 2023, MANA created the *Gloria Rosas Teacher Education Scholarship* in

honor of the renowned Gloria Rosas, activist and community organizer for bilingual education and bilingual parents. The intent of this scholarship is to support Spanish-speaking Latinas who are pursuing a teaching certificate in elementary or secondary education with an endorsement in bilingual education or English as a Second Language (ESL) instruction. The other scholarship categories include the Dr. Ellen Ochoa STEM Scholarship, the Monica L. Martinez Leadership Scholarship, the Carmen Muñoz Entrepreneurship Scholarship and the MANA General Scholarship.

The 2024 MANA de Metro Detroit Scholars are: Alondra Cruz-Améstica (WSU), Jennifer Rizo-Perez (U of M), Adilem Hernandez (WSU), Alejandra Padilla-Miguel (MSU), Angela Llanas (U of M), Arely Aguirre-Pacheco (U of M), Citlalli M. Cervantes-Alvarado (WSU), Deysi Joven Gonzalez (WSU), Isabel López (U of M), Valentina del Valle Martinez (Macomb College), Yoana Arreaga-Bartolon (MSU), Alexandra Velasco-Cruz (WSU), Elizabeth Amezcua-Tepehua (WSU), Yaritza Campos (U of M, Dearborn), and Paola Garza (U of M Dearborn).

MANA de Metro Detroit wishes to thank the sponsors, donors and volunteers that were responsible for 2024 Brindis Luncheon and the award recipients who together made this occasion a memorable event. If you feel inspired to join MANA de Metro Detroit or want to support the organization in any way, please go to the website www.manademetrodetroit.com to learn more about all of our programs and our upcoming events.



2024 Scholarship Recipients in no particular order: Adilem Hernandez, Alejandra Padilla- Miguel, Angela LLanas, Arely Aguirre-Pacheco, Citlalli Marisol Cervantes-Alvarado, Deysi Joven Gonzalez, Isabel Lopez, Valentina Del Valle Martinez, Yoana Arreaga-Bartolon. Carmen Munnoz Entrepreneurship Scholarship - Alexandra Velasco-Cruz. Monica L. Martinez Leadership Scholarship- Elizabeth Amezcua-Tepehua and Yaritza Campos. Dr. Ellen Ochoa STEM Scholarship - Paola Garza. Gloria Rosas Teacher Education Scholarship - Alondra Cruz Almestica (not pictured) and Jenifer Rizo-Perez (not pictured)



Adelitas Award Recipients pictured with MANA President, Stephanie Lopez Gilmore - Adelitas: Olga Ortiz Rodriguez (Director of Business Development, DRM Consulting, LLC), Eva Torres (City of Detroit, District 6 Manager), and Tanya Caruana (Global Director of Implementation & Operations for the TripWise Solution at Sirva)



MANA's Fundraising Committee



MANA Officers - Secretary, Micheline Silva, VP - Cindy Gamboa, President - Stephanie Lopez Gilmore, Treasurer, Tanya Caruana



Amigo Award Recipient - Dr. Jose Cuello, Emeritus Associate Professor of History, Wayne State University – pictured with some WSU alumni.